h1

The Issue with Crystal Deodorant Stones

February 16, 2010

Hi Guys!

I recently did a post on underarm health, and mentioned that we should avoid antiperspirants and switch to deodorants that don’t contain aluminum. Some of you asked me about crystal deodorants, and asked whether I recommend them. I didn’t know that much about them, so I decided to look into it, which revealed some interesting facts.

First, let’s review that aluminum is a poison, a neurotoxin that affects our brain, and does not serve our bodies in any way. If we use antiperspirants or deodorants containing aluminum, we can significantly increase how much of this poison enters our body. A review revealed that in one single underarm application of antiperspirant, about .012 percent of the aluminum may be absorbed. When we add that up for all the days we use that product, you can be sure that is a major amount of poison entering our body! Besides being linked to Alzheimer’s disease, a study in 2006 found that aluminum salts can mimic the hormone estrogen, and chemicals that imitate that hormone are known to increase breast cancer risk.

Crystal deodorant stones are often viewed as the healthy deodorant alternative. However, after doing my last post and because so many of you asked me, I researched it more. Here’s what I found: These crystal stones claim to be aluminum- free, but they are referring to the 3 types of aluminum that are most actively used by commercial brands. These specifically include aluminum chlorohydrate, aluminum chloride, aluminum hydroxybromide or aluminum zirconium.

Crystal deodorant stones DO contain a different type of compound known as an alum, the most common form being potassium alum, also known as potassium aluminum sulfate. This type of aluminum is made up of mineral salts and molecules generally considered too large to be absorbed by the skin- though there does not seem to be any solid evidence to support this claim. This makes it better than our commercial choices, but the fact remains that these products are not aluminum-free.

Because they are clearly not aluminum-free, there is still the risk of toxicity entering the body, and Alzheimer’s and all the health risks that go along with that. Therefore, I recommend that if you are using these crystal deodorant stones it would be better if you stopped- we don’t need the risk that this could be harmful to your body!!!

You can switch to the other brands like Tom’s when you really need it, which are aluminum and paraben-free, though they too are not completely perfect. Tom’s still contains the toxin Propylene glycol. If you are unsure about aluminum products, check the label not just for aluminum, potassium alum, potash alum, and potassium aluminum sulfate.

We can wash our underarms very well with soap and water, and as our diet improves, we generally stink much less! Summertime you may want to use it more, but maybe a lot of the time now you can skip…You may not need that deo as much as you think. 🙂

With Love, Kimberly

14 comments

  1. I have gone back and forth between Tom’s and The Crystal Stone. Neither really keeps body odor down when I work out (gross) and I continue to get a bit of a rash under one arm at times (gross times two)


    • Hmm… what about your diet?? If you wash with water and baking soda before/after, maybe that would help. As your diet improves the natural body odor should reduce also!


  2. Over the last 3 years I must have tried out at least 20 different “natural” style deodorants with little success, except for the one I am using now. The only bummer is that it is kinda of a pain to apply because it is in a little tub – I discovered that using one of those flat teardrop face sponges seems to work well 🙂

    It is by Now Foods and is simply called Long Lasting Deodorant Cream. It does leave white marks on your goth gear but keeps the stink at bay 🙂

    Hope this helps 🙂


  3. I’ve been using the Avalon Organics lavender deodorant which is basically essential oil. It works well and I think I could replicate it once the bottle empties with some oil and distilled water.


  4. I love Weleda’s sage–it works super well and smells great. Of course, now I’m afraid Kimberly’s going to tell me there’s something bad in that too!


  5. I really scrub my pits regularly but I just stink. Even with a good diet. Even with commercial deo- what’s wrong with me???? Sometimes within 10 minutes after a shower I start to smell. I don’t overly perspire -just stink. Something can’t be right. I’m really afraid to switch to natural deodorant because I think it really won’t might work even less than the regular anti-perspirant. Any thoughts ?


  6. Hi Kimberly!
    Thanks for answering my question about getting my kids more regular. Your posts are so timely for me! Since we’re talking about under arms, do you have any idea what may cause itchy underarms? Apparently, I’m not alone b/c I found plenty of others that suffer from this when I searched it on the internet. But I got no true clue as to what may cause it or what I can do about it. Incidentally, I totally agree with your advice to stay away from crystal deodorants. Your research is top-notch! I make a paste out of baking soda but the itching has happened for years (thought it might stop with the elimination of deodorants). Is this a sign of something else going on and do you have any tips on how to handle it? I don’t know if this is related but as of the last year or so I’ve begun to actually sweat in my armpits and never had before. I’m curious if you have any input on this for me.
    As always, I sure do appreciate you taking the time and interest in my quest to being a healthier me (with healthier kids)!
    Thanks, Laura


  7. Well, all you hippies must think alike 😉 I don’t know if you follow his website but Dr. Mercola just released an article on natural deodorants, too. I’ve stopped using deodorant recently and started using a bit of witch hazel after my showers and it lasts me through the day, until my next shower. I don’t think people realize that commercial deodorant is not absolutely necessary…especially if you shower well on the regular. “Well” as in you scrub that stuff nicely and not just stand in running water.


  8. I use terressentials deodorant. It’s a roll on, and has safe ingredients – aloe, mineral blend, baking soda, and then a ton of lovely organic plant extracts and essential oils. No icky things like propylene glycol, and definitely nothing I can’t pronounce. This works better than commercial deodorants in my opinion. I love this stuff!


  9. I just moisten my fingertips with water , dip em in just a tad of baking soda and apply. It works well for me, although I have wondered if it actually really is a healthy alternative or not..

    Julie


  10. I make my own using coconut oil, arrowroot or cornstarch and baking soda. It really works, too.


    • Hey! I was just getting ready to post that! I found the recipe to make this deodorant yesterday, and I’ve been telling everybody I can think of since I found it!


      • I also use that. it works great for me! During the winter I can even put it in an old roll-on container and apply that way


  11. Thank you for this, Kim! I’ve been using the crystal one because I stopped using Tom’s because of the other toxins in it. I guess I should switch back!



Leave a comment